Kanye is over there calling himself a god and his child Saint and the whole world is worrying about Meagan’s breast and whether her husband defended her the right way ๐Ÿ™„. Most of us are unburying our white hats to talk about “shoulds and shouldn’ts, what’s acceptable in the eyes of God or required modesty as fellow Christians” ๐Ÿค”Uhm let’s talk about modesty my people. Now yes I know some of my fellows SDA will quickly resort to finger pointing to say I’m not best suited to talk about modesty when I’m a nonconformist Adventist -Yah I Know! I’m gonna do it anyway. So I’ll take myself for example as I know most of our brothers and sisters can actually relate. It won’t necessarily mean I do everything I’m about to point out but you’ll get the image. NOW can I call myself modest just because I don’t bluntly expose my body parts on social media? So if my cleavage is high enough, my skirt is long enough and my underarms (smh) are covered – does that truly suffice to patch my modesty name tag ON? I mean I’m talking about spending the week preparing my fashion forward outfit to look great on the sabbath (like Jesus care. Right๐Ÿ˜œ) I mean if i forget to shape my eyebrows before getting to church I spent 30 minutes away from the service pulling my crayon to fix my eyebrows and do my make up touch ups before I actually go sit INSIDE the church (I mean Jesus won’t accept me with my face so plain looking. Right? ๐Ÿค). I have a whole IG FB account waiting to show off the shoes I wear that matched my other accessories, the details of my well tailored suits, the name brand of my ties, scarves, the designer name of my purse – and oh and let’s not forget that conversation after the service (even beforehand) “giiiirl where did you get those shoes?? I need to buy them”

“oh I got them at Bloomingdales, can you believe they were on sales? Yea you can totally go get yours”
Uhm oh wait Im already planning my shopping list for my outfits for the next sabbath RIGHT in the middle of Praise and Worship mind you. (I mean Jesus understands it’s important to be up-to-date. Right – he won’t accept me any other way)
Putting my white hat pointing my fingers, with those $65 gel manicures with those trendy shapes, at my sister who is not covering up over there๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ. How dare you wearing your cleavage so low as a Christian? Says the lady in the fur coat (just an imaginary example)

I mean my fellow Christians WHAT IS MODESTY TO YOU? Ever try to imagine as well what would qualify as modesty for Jesus Christ ? These discussions got me thinking all week- why is it that I feel I Can’t go to church wearing that casual Friday outfit I went to work with? (I’m changing that mentality for real)We turn going to church into such a first class aristocratic affair that most of us wear suit and ties, wear our wedding gowns (๐Ÿ˜ฉ) to go meet the Lord (guilty). I am so deeply reared by our community I feel it’s a little weird to wear a jean shirt to church. WHY? I don’t want people to start asking me if i don’t have church clothes anymore ๐Ÿ˜Ÿ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿค but hey I’m as modest as I can be cause you can’t see any lusting part even though my pencil skirt is so tight I don’t need to paint you a picture.
MY POINT IS of we are going to start playing the modesty card let’s go all in. If we want the community, the world to be well-informed and conformed their wardrobes as Christians then we need to be real – let’s not blur certain things. It is a shady practice to condemn things halfway and accept other related things of the same nature just because it’s a grey area. Whenever I hear people start saying this is a grey area I have headaches!! Reason number One I am against sanctions of church members. Who are you to sanction someone for 6 months because you Learn he has a baby mama?? Lol ()let me leave this for another time – the end๐Ÿค๐Ÿค
LOVE IS THE NUMBER ONE COMMANDMENT IN THE BIBLE ACCORDING TO GOD HIMSELF. Let’s start loving one another and TREAT AND SPEAK WITH LOVE. I understand we are all different with different personalities and upbringing but let’s read the bible together and implement the words with God’s guidance. Let’s not go on a shaming others sprees and call it ministering the word. And please let’s stop saying oh God sent you to tell me not to wear this or that WITH YOUR ATTITUDE GLAZING ON. For all I know your dreams and that spirit you heard could have been simply your subconscious repeating and affirming your preconceived beliefs. Let’s pray instead.
Ok I’m done. Let me just go back to sleep. I don’t even know what I’m going to wear to church yet. ๐Ÿ˜ธ๐Ÿ˜ธ

Leave a Reply

