There is THE World: the one out there that I have no immediate control over, the one that is not directly connected to my daily life, the one that can take million of years before personally affecting my moods, the one that includes all the continents with all of their countries with all of their people. No I am not talking about THE World.
When I say I want to change “The World”
When I say I want to leave my mark in “The World”
When I say I want “The World” to be a better place
No. Not really. I am not talking about THE world.
I only mean to say that I want you, who is right beside me
You that I see outside every time I leave my house
You that I meet on my way to work
You that I meet if only virtually
I hope my smile, my words bring you joy if even a few seconds long after I’m gone.
When I say I want to change the world
I only mean that you, my stigmatized, abused, wounded clients
I hope you feel better if only for a few hours after we talk
I mean you, my friend, my enemy, my stranger, my blood, my colleague
I hope you retain something valuable if even for a few minutes after we meet

I hope you are able to understand that when I say that I want The world to be a better place
I only mean that I want you living around where I go or where my writing travels
I want you to see that it is not all darkness, it never was
I only mean that I want The World where I am with you to be better
And maybe one day you will consider making someone else’s world better too
I want you to see….
I want you to see that I don’t mean THE world
I only mean YOU

Love,
Lady Trish.

Leave a Reply

