How in tune are you with your senses? How conscious are you of the micro-processes from what you’re feeling on your skin? How often are you conscious of what you’re hearing? How often are you conscious of what you’re seeing around you?

When I was little (5-6 years old) when it’s raining I used to strip to my undergarments and run outside (in our backyard) in the rain without a care in the world. As I am writing this down I can hear my grandmother reminding me then “You are a girl. You cannot just run outside like you’re crazy. Behave yourself.” I was born a free-spirited girl. I can tell you, watching the rain through windows was never fun. I had to feel it to enjoy it.

Usually when people talk about relaxing after a long day, they mention laying in a warm bubble bath with dim light, scented candles, and slow music. All of this to relax… it does work. But see, what about the simple joy in the daily life? The practical made beautiful. It’s one thing to use something everyday as a mean, but it’s another to totally immerse in a surreal interaction with it; water.

Yes I am indeed writing about water. Have you ever listened to the music of water falling down at your bare feet in the shower? Try it.

Just stand there for a minute.

Do not over think it.

Just let it be.

Just be.

Stand there aware of temperature,

aware of the drops pouring over you,

aware of the sounds,

aware of the feel

Just listen….

Quite simple yet feels so incredible!

That mindfulness reminds me of this movie I have watched over and over, “August Rush.” I feel alive each and every time I watch it. This movie is a reminder of how magnificent, how mind-blowing the human senses are.

(PS. It’s not for everyone. If you don’t get the movie, no worry. Your music is around; you just have to tune in.)

            “ Listen, can you hear it? The music. I can hear it everywhere, in the wind, the air, in the light. It’s all around us. All you have to do is open yourself up. All you have to do is listen.” August Rush, the movie.

 

Lady Trish.

Leave a Reply

